This website is designed for landscape mode,
please rotate your device.

Diamond shapes

The original round brilliant-cut is the most popular. The cut was developed by Marcel Tolkowsky in 1919. The modern round brilliant consists of 57 facets.

Oval-shaped diamonds are related to marquise-cut and were introduced in the 1700’s.
It consists of 56 facets.

Also called navette-cut. It is believed that the Sun King, Louis the XIV wanted a diamond to be cut like the smile of his mistress, Marquise de Pompadour.

Pear-shaped diamonds are known as the teardrop shape owing to their resemblance and are considered as a hybrid between the marquise cut and the round brilliant diamond.

The heart shaped diamond is essentially a pear-shaped diamond with a cleft at the top. The diamond shape itself is considered by some to be the most romantic of all cuts.

As may be evident by the name, the "emerald cut" was originally developed for
cutting emeralds, not diamonds.

The princess cut is the second most popular shape, only trumped by the brilliant cut. The princess cut is a relatively new diamond shape, it was created in the 1960s.

The cushion cut is antique. It is also referred to as the pillow-cut or candlelight diamond. (A reference to the times when diamonds sparkled in the sole light of candles.)

Diamonds come in many shapes. The round cut diamond – the brillant – is the most common cut, but Fancy cut diamonds are becoming more popular.